Summertime Oatmeal

Oats

As you will come to learn about me, one of my most favorite foods is oatmeal. Thus, it only seemed natural to have it be the focus of my first post. Mornings in many households tend to be rushed and the food selections boring and unvaried from day-to-day. Oatmeal, however is a quick and healthy breakfast that can easily be altered each day to help keep breakfast interesting. The past few months my oatmeal has typically contained bananas, craisins, and sometimes Vermont maple syrup. However, after stocking up on in season (and thus cheaper) fruit over the weekend, my Sunday oatmeal got a summertime make-over with mango slices, red raspberries, and peach slices.

Mango Slices
 

I apologize for not posting a picture of the finished product. I added the fruit in with the oats before microwaving which resulted in the whole bowl taking on a pinkish hue from the raspberries. While quite delicious, it was not very appealing to look at. To learn about the health benefits of oatmeal and other ideas for including this food in your diet check out this post I wrote as a guest blogger for Supermarket Savvy. Please also post your favorite oatmeal recipe in the comments section!

Raspberries
 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Summertime Oatmeal

  1. Anonymous says:

    Never tried Mangoes in oatmeal, but now I will have to give it a go. My “go-to” oatmeal mix-ins are cinnamon, raisins, and brown sugar or otherwise just strawberries!

  2. Carmen says:

    I appreciate your thuthgufol comment. Indigestible proteins have always been a problem. They’ve been found primarily in the plant kingdom because most plants have anti-digestives inherent in their plant make-up, at least until cooked or altered by processes like sprouting. It’s interesting that, before the advent of fire, humans were unable to consume much from the plant kingdom other than seasonal berries. Because prehistoric man was unable to consume uncooked nuts, seeds, or plants they were forced to acquire necessary nutrition from raw animal fat and protein. If we examine the isolated early twentieth century Eskimos as an example they did quite well on such a diet. I agree with you that excess protein in the diet is harmful and pro-inflammatory. I attribute this, though, more to a product of overeating than to a product of excess dietary proportion of protein. In a dietary analysis of my clients I most commonly find an excess proportion of starchy carbohydrates. In my client population I don’t see a lot of excess protein consumption and, perhaps surprisingly, I don’t see that much excess sugar consumption. That may be due to the fact that most of my clients are pretty health conscious. I question the commonly held opinion that a largely plant based diet is most health promoting. I’ve never read convincing science to support this position. I tend to see that people who attempt to follow a diet largely or wholly based on plants end up consuming excess fruit and grains, whole or otherwise. These people often run into blood sugar problems. The main benefit I see among these people is that they might consume less fast or processed foods. I have to confess that I have not read the China Study yet. I’m aware of it and, as a point of interest, will put it on my reading list. Thank you again for your comment. I would enjoy further discussion with you. Robert Shinney

Leave a Reply

