Pedometer Challenge

Since starting to study for the RD Exam last week – as well as becoming addicted to learning about the world of blogging – I realized I have been sitting on my butt more than normal. If it were not for my workouts, I may not have even hit 3,000 steps a day! That number is MUCH lower than the recommendation to walk 10,000 steps a day!! Yikes! Thus, after an active weekend spent camping, mountain biking, swimming, hiking, and running I have decided to keep this entire week as active as possible despite having to work and study. The plan: Put on my pedometer and walk at least 8,000 steps each day – not including the workouts I have planned. I’ll give a recap at the end of the week with the step totals, and what I had to do in order to hit that number each day!

Starting out the day with 0 steps.

Pedometers can be a great tool to use every so often to track your activity level. I especially like to use one when I know I will be unable to get a workout in (such as while traveling, during busy weeks at work, times when I’m swamped with school work, or while recovering from an injury). Pedometers are cheap – you don’t have to buy a fancy one – and there are even pedometer apps available for smart phones! I challenge each of you to see where your step count is at now and to make strides (literally, hehe) to increase it each day!

Leave a comment stating what your step goal is and what you had to do in order to achieve it!

4 thoughts on “Pedometer Challenge

  1. Laura says:

    It makes perfect sense. Even irntneal dialogues are not immune from the requirement to present things in ways that appeal and entice us. The key is to figure out how to tell yourself what you need to hear. Tone and reasoning matter.Unfortunately, Google has the advertising and customization chops, and Apple has the output methods (Siri), so we won’t get the ideal self-marketing, self-improvement, auto-monitoring, feedback system for a while yet.

Leave a Reply

