Musical Motivation

Sometimes all it takes to step up the intensity of a workout is a great soundtrack. Usually spin instructors do a great job at this and occasionally an inspiring song will be played while I am at the gym lifting as well. I don’t run with music because 1) it’s probably safer I pay attention to my surroundings in the city and 2) my iPod broke a while back and I never got a new one. Nonetheless, every so often I find myself singing (usually in my head…sometimes outloud) while out on a run and it certainly helps me turn my legs over faster. Ever notice how a great song can make you push a bit harder during a hill climb, put a pep in your step in aerobics, increase your pace on a run, or bang out those last few reps no problem?

Here are six songs that have done it for me lately:

  1. “Going the Distance” – Cake
  2. “Tik Tok” – Ke$ha
  3. “Eye of the Tiger” – Survivor
  4. “Headstrong” – Trapt
  5. “Glory Days” – Bruce Springsteen
  6. “Turn on the Radio” – Reba McEntire

What is your current go-to song for some musical motivation during a workout?

10 thoughts on “Musical Motivation

  1. Mollee says:

    Battle Without Honor or Humanity by Tomoyasu Hotei. It’s all guitar and an excellent motivator; I use it for the sprint section of my workouts.

  2. Sean says:

    Lately I haven’t been listening to any music and have actually been zoning out the gyms music and focusing on pushing myself hard through my workouts, but normally it is usually something up-tempo which tends to be some sort of punk (Dropkick Murphy’s, Bouncing Souls, Ramones, etc).

      • Sean says:

        Recently, I have zoned it out all together and can’t even remember if it was even on or not but then I remember that it was on when I first got there. I guess I have been pretty good at just putting my head down, so to speak, and powering through my workouts. They have been pretty tough lately.

    • Tanya says:

      Excellent point that there are scientific findings associated with music and physiological parameters such as heart rate, as well as performance! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

