Words to Live By: Holstee Manifesto

I saw the link to this Manifesto shared on Twitter by @ElizabethEats (who also blogs over at Don’t White Sugar Coat It). I immediately fell in love with it and therefore, wanted to share it with everyone!  (Too small to read? Follow this link instead, Holstee Manifesto)

I can relate to many of the sentences on this, but most recently to “IF YOU DON’T LIKE SOMETHING, CHANGE IT”. Earlier this year I found myself in a situation which was not ideal (or even close to it). I was miserable and it was taking a negative toll on my health. Instead of staying in it and sticking it out, I decided that this was MY life and I was not going to allow myself to stay in a situation that was having such an impact on it. So I changed it! Sometimes, the best way to improve your health is not by eating better or exercising more – it is by making the necessary change(s) to improve your happiness level.

On a less serious note – I can also easily relate to “IF YOU DON’T HAVE ENOUGH TIME, STOP WATCHING TV”. Until recently, I did not have TV in my house for the past 5 years!! Trust me, you won’t miss it and you will be much more productive 🙂

Which phrase on this Manifesto most grabbed you? Why?

6 thoughts on “Words to Live By: Holstee Manifesto

  1. Jamie Wilder says:

    I love this post….it brings up so many things to think about. For me, I like the comment “if you don’t like your job, quit”. Even though sometimes that decision isn’t cut and dry, it makes me consider it more seriously :). Life is short and even though I’m one to stick with things and not quit, I have to wonder if it’s worth the stress! Thanks for this post Tanya…I might have to steal it and re-post on my fb wall 🙂

  2. Tanya says:

    Steal away – seeing as I did the same in order to help spread it! I agree with you that a lof of the sentences on this manifesto and similar quotes such as “if you don’t like your job, quit” are certainly not as simple as that as there are several factors to consider when making decisions regarding your life (especially if you have a family of your own). I also tend to be of the “stick it out” and “don’t quit” mind frame as well, but when it comes down to it, if we are completely miserable or absoloutely hate some aspect of our life/situation why not make changes to improve our quality of life right?

    Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting Jamie! 🙂

  3. Colton St Peter says:

    “If you don’t have enough time, stop watching TV.”

    Why?………because people would rather watch something fun and exciting, and not put in any effort, rather than doing it themselves.

Leave a Reply

