September is National Yoga Month

I am not much of a yoga practicer (yogi? whatever it is called) and my flexibility (or rather, lack thereof) makes that quite obvious. Yet, since moving I have attended a few yoga classes as well as used some DVDs at home, and have thoroughly enjoyed it. A lot of friends swear by it for injury prevention and peace of mind, so I figure I should give it a legit try. Since September is National Yoga Month I am going to step up my sporadic yoga routine to once per week. Several yoga studios are also offering a free week of membership or a discounted month in celebration, so find a studio near you and try it out.

Obviously not me.

Do you practice yoga? What form(s)? Any advice for a newbie like me??

6 thoughts on “September is National Yoga Month

  1. Anonymous says:

    I’ve been practising yoga for almost two years now – twice per week at Riverdog Yoga in Old Saybrook CT. I was diagnosed with degenerative disc disease and told I would have lower back pain forever. 1 1/2 years into it and NO back pain. It’s more about strength than flexibility and incredibly empowering – physically and mentally. Namaste!

    • Tanya says:

      No problem! You could also go to lululemon if there is a store close by since most have a free yoga class once a week all year long. And Groupons and similar sites tend to have good fitness studio deals pop up too!

  2. ET (@runningbride2b) says:

    My tip: take it slow. I’ve given myself back spasms doing “gentle yoga” because I just wouldn’t listen to my body telling me not to bend a certain way. It’s really easy in a class to feel that competitive spirit and over do it.

    The best thing with yoga is that just after a few sessions and even in the middle of the session you can really feel the increased flexibility and even strength. I use it before bed to just stretch out my weary muscles a little and it really helps, especially when if I run at night.

    • Tanya says:

      Thank you for the advice. It is true that it is easy to become competitive, yet this is something where you really can’t “try harder” or push yourself beyond your limits. It is a strange concept for me, but I am trying to ease in to it! I like your idea of doing a session before bed – will have to try it out!

Leave a Reply

