Medicine Ball Madness + I Hate Yoga Pants

Happy Monday! I hope everyone had a great weekend. I ran in a night-time trail run on Saturday which was a lot of fun (minus tripping over a tree root and hurting myself!). I think trail running is what I need to fall in love with running again since lately I have not been feeling it…

Moving on! This week I have a medicine ball workout to share with you all. Since it is a lot of pictures I am just going to post one move a day. Before I share it, let me preface this by saying that I have never worked out in yoga pants before this, and as it turns out- I hate them! I have actually never been a fan of yoga pants until recently. I had this stereotypical view of them as being only for middle-aged women or for being worn by annoying females at the gym who don’t dare break a sweat. I apologize if that is offensive – it is just the view I had of them. Also, as a soccer player, my thighs have always been larger than the skinny models I see looking all cute in these yoga pants, so I just didn’t think they were for me. That all changed when I bought a pair of North Face yoga pants during a Labor Day Sale. I fell in love. These pants were so comfortable and I loved lounging around the house, running errands in them, etc. However, I didn’t try to workout in them until this weekend. And well, basically they are just too hot and I feel silly wearing flared pants to lift. So doing errands, or a yoga class, fine, they can stay. Actually working out? NOPE! Not for me!

Thanks for letting me get that off my chest. Now for today’s exercise!

 Medicine Ball Move #1 – Squat to Shoulder Press

Start holding the ball chest height.

Step 1

Squat down, keeping your weight on your heels and form a 90 degree angle with your upper and lower legs.

Step 2

Stand up and press the ball over your head in one quick motion.

Step 3

Perform 3 sets of 20.

*Note – I used a 20# Medicine Ball for this and all of the moves I will show you this week. Adjust accordingly!

Do you incorporate medicine balls in to your workouts? And more importantly, what are your thoughts on yoga pants? Am I the only one who thinks they don’t mix with anything besides well, yoga?

13 thoughts on “Medicine Ball Madness + I Hate Yoga Pants

  1. Tiffany says:

    First of all, by “bigger” thighs, you mean small, right? As for me – I love my yoga pants but do feel kinda silly lifting in them. We need to see some pics of your deadlifting outfits!

    • Tanya says:

      Hey Tiffany,

      I’m too afraid to bring a camera in to the gym since it is not really allowed and I am kind of shy and would feel weird if people saw what the heck I was doing…but hey, I have embarrased myself before, so I may as well take some legit lifting pics in the gym at some point! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Sean says:

    I would also like to suggest, as you become more comfortable performing squats to 90 degrees to start going lower into the squat. By lowering past 90 degrees you can increase flexibility and range of motion, which can improve knee joint health. In addition, you can increase the activation of the glutes (specifically the gluteus maximus). While the research repeatedly shows that deep squats are both safe and extremely beneficial to knee health and muscular development, rate of depth should be controlled and be based on an individuals flexibility. Remember to stay back on your heals during the descent and explode up.

  3. Kristen @ Swanky Dietitian says:

    I don’t use medicine balls nearly enough. It’s such a great workout.
    I love yoga pants but you definitely have to find the right kind. I have gotten some that just didn’t fit right. I love LUCY brand but they don’t have a store in Vegas anymore. 😦

    • Tanya says:

      Hmm, I will have to track down some of those pants. I think I would maybe like cut off, capri length ones better for lifting than the flared ones!Thanks for the LUCY suggestion!

  4. Liz @ Southern Charm says:

    A class that I take uses small medicine balls. They may have a name but I’ve never caught the instructor saying it. We do similar exercises. I love it! Different from your typical weights.

    And I am not a fan of yoga pants, and besides, being from New Orleans, I hardly ever need them 🙂 Now running tights? Those I LOVE.

    • Tanya says:

      Liz, I also LOVE running tights, so I thought it was a bit weird I dislike yoga pants for working out since they are kind of similar. I’m glad to hear someone else shares my slightly odd likes/dislike regarding workout attire!

Leave a Reply

