Medicine Ball Madness – Move #3

Woohoo, it is Wednesday…Getting closer to Friday is always good! If you missed out on my posts from yesterday or Monday be sure to check them out for 2 other Medicine Ball Moves! Today’s medicine ball exercise will target our triceps. It is called the…

Skull Crusher:

I don’t think a medicine ball will literally crush your skull, but just to be safe, make an effort to not actually drop it on your head, okay? Good, glad we got that out-of-the-way!

Start lying on the ground/mat/lifting bench, arms locked out perpendicular to your body.

Bend your elbows and lower the medicine ball until you are almost touching your head.

Fully straighten your arms again, that is one rep. Like the previous two moves, adjust the weight and number of reps accordingly. I typically do 3 sets of 12 to 15 reps on this one. When I use a bar instead of the medicine ball, I increase the weight and decrease the reps!

I don’t see skull crushers performed that often in the gym. Do you ever do them, either with a bar, ball, or dumbbells? If not, what is your preferred triceps exercise?

P.S. – About the “surprise” I mentioned yesterday – How does tomorrow sound for announcing it?

8 thoughts on “Medicine Ball Madness – Move #3

  1. Sarah says:

    I’m a huge fan of the medicine ball. I use them for push-ups as well as squats. I modify the first exercise you showed (the squat) at the gym and throw the ball against the wall (a few feet above my head), catch it then squat and as I stand up, throw it again. Adds a little bit more core to the whole exercise. As for your skull crushers…love the name, haha. I’ve done them with a bar, but never with a ball – gonna try that next time I’m at the gym!

    Also, if you have a partner…try tossing it back and forth while squatting, it really gets you! Or get a partner to throw it to you while doing crunches/situps on a decline.

    • Tanya says:

      Oh yes, I LOVE the decline abs with the addition of the medicine ball. We used to have to throw med balls at each other when I played soccer to improve the distance of our throw-ins, and that was terrifying having a med ball whipped that hard at. However, I think “nicer” partner throwing while squatting is a good idea. Now I just need a workout partner….hmm…you should probably move to Virginia when you graduate! 🙂

  2. Allie @ PickyEatingRD says:

    I always forget about skull crushers but they are an awesome way to work your triceps! I used to use a weighted bar with my clients when I had them do that exercise. I am excited to read about this “announcement”!!!

  3. Sean says:

    I am a big fan of the three way triceps, which include laying triceps pull over, skull crushers, and close grip bench press using an ez-bar. In terms of my regular triceps exercise, pushups all the way. By making sure your elbows are as close to yours sides as possible, you will activate more of the triceps.

Leave a Reply

