PB n’ J – Not Just for the Kids

As you may know, we are currently in the midst of National Peanut Butter Lovers Month – something I am more than happy to celebrate. With that in mind and with knowing I am all about quick and easy recipes it should come as no surprise that I am here promoting the classic peanut butter and jelly to you all. However, today we will be putting a bit of a spin on it!

PB n’ J Awesomeness

First change: Slightly toast the bread. I.e. – It should be warm and almost crunchy, but not darkened at all.

Second change: Add a layer of sliced apples (I used Honey Crisp) in between the peanut butter and jelly layers.

Voila, peanut butter and jelly fit for the kiddos and the grown-ups!

Let’s be honest now, do you still enjoy your traditional peanut butter and jelly sandwich? Do you add anything to it like honey, banana slices, or something else I haven’t thought of? My parents tell me that as a child I insisted on eating PB&J with a slice of ham in the middle. I have no recollection of this and that sounds SO disgusting to me now. Did any of you eat anything that gross growing up?

P.S. – Have you entered my Eat.Think.Smile Giveaway yet? Get to it! Contest ends tomorrow at 8pm (EST).

8 thoughts on “PB n’ J – Not Just for the Kids

  1. Sean says:

    I still enjoy the PB&J. During college training trips, it was my staple post-morning workout snack before hitting the beach. Instead of making two sandwiches though, I would make a double decker. I would use 3 slices of bread and stack them so the middle piece had PB on each side. It was, and still is, a glorious creation!

  2. Tiff @ Love Sweat and Beers says:

    I love pb&j. It’s really good as-is, but I try to healthify it a bit by using sliced apple, sliced banana, or berries in place of the j. I have to admit though, Trader Joe’s has an awesome fig butter that I’ve been using lately. Deeeelish!

    • Meann says:

      shows up in the address bar when you click on the acautl post not your MAIN webpage address. Click here if you need more help with that.) I’ll keep the linky open through friday November 2oth, then

Leave a Reply

