What to Bring to Thanksgiving Part II – Roasted Root Vegetables

Happy Monday! Usually I spend my weekends in the office doing work, but after the last few weeks totally burning me out I decided to not do any work this weekend and boy do I feel refreshed. Saturday I ran a low-key 5K that this local running store (The Aid Station) put on to celebrate their grand opening. Registration was free, t-shirts were given, and everyone also received a $15 gift card to the store! What a deal! I hobbled the last half of it, but was still able to finish in 25 minutes and change. Guess my calf is still not totally better just yet. Hopefully soon though I can stop being a gimpy! Look at this cute little Chihuahua that ran too. His name is Taco and apparently he averages about 20 miles a week! 🙂

Taco and I post 5K

Alright, now on to  Part II of what to make for Thanksgiving – in case you don’t have your whole line up planned out yet! I found today’s recipe for Roasted Potatoes, Carrots, Parsnips, and Brussel Sprouts on the Food Network. It is super simple and I actually realized brussels sprouts are not the TERRIBLY DISGUSTING green thing I tried and disliked years ago. So, if you think brussels sprouts are awful, try this out – you may just like them!

INGREDIENTS:

Veggies –

  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil – enough to grease baking sheet and a bit to moisten the vegetables before roasting
  • 3 medium carrots (cut in to 1.5 inch thick circles)
  • 1.5 cups brussels sprouts (halved)
  • 4 cups red bliss potatoes (cut in to 1.5 inch thick slices) – I probably used closer to 6 cups!
  • 3 medium parsnips – aka the things that look like off white carrots in the produce aisle (cut in to 1.5 inch circles/slices) 
  • 1 cup sweet potatoes (cut in to 1.5 inch thick slices) – I used about 3 cups since I like sweet potatoes a lot! 🙂

Seasoning –

  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 1 tablespoon dried rosemary
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 tablespoons freshly ground black pepper

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F.
  2. Grease 11 x 17 baking sheet with olive oil
  3. Place vegetables on baking sheet. Sprinkle herbs salt and pepper over them.
  4. Add more oil if needed and toss until all vegetables are evenly coated with herbs and oil.
  5. Bake on middle oven rack for 35-40 minutes
    SERVE and ENJOY

 

I have another last-minute Thanksgiving Recipe tomorrow to share with you all!

What are your Thanksgiving Plans? Do you like brussels sprouts? Have you tried them roasted before? Are there any other good ways to eat them? How was your weekend?

6 thoughts on “What to Bring to Thanksgiving Part II – Roasted Root Vegetables

  1. Kristen @ Swanky Dietitian says:

    I love brussel sprouts! I especially like them baked in the oven. When I was little, my mom used to steam them. I always remember peeling back each layer as I ate them. It was fun for me I guess. 😉
    I love this veggie medley!! Looks delish!
    I received your package! Thanks so much! 🙂

Leave a Reply

