What to Bring to Thanksgiving Part III – Jalapeno-Cranberry Relish Recipe

Thanksgiving is almost here, so today I am providing you all with another recipe (follow the links for Part I and Part II) to bring with you or make for your guests: Jalapeno-Cranberry Relish. I found this recipe on Boston.com and was a bit skeptical about making it since I have never been a fan of cranberry sauce before. While it is still a too bitter for me to eat large quantities, I did enjoy this relish in small servings.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground all-spice
  • 2 jalapenos (or your choice of another small hot chili) – deseeded and finely chopped
  • black pepper to taste
  • 24 oz. fresh, whole cranberries (Note: cranberries are usually sold in 12 oz. bags, so buy 2!)
  • Grated rind and juice of 1 lime

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Combine vinegar, sugar, salt, all-spice, jalapeno, and black pepper in a large sauce pan. Bring to a boil, lower the heat, and simmer for 5-8 minutes, until the mixture turns in to a thick syrup.
  2. Add the cranberries. Cook, stirring often until the cranberries begin to burst (about 5 minutes)
  3. Stir in juice and rind from the lime.
  4. Cool and refrigerate for 1 day. *I didn’t do this before first testing it out and I really liked it. I still liked in after trying it the next day as well!

This would be the perfect accompaniment to your Thanksgiving meal and much better than cranberry sauce out of the can! I tried this on its own, on top of the Roasted Vegetable Medley I posted yesterday, and even on top of spaghetti squash last night! I was told it was very tasty on grilled chicken as well.

Do you like cranberries? Have you tried cranberries with a jalapeno kick before? Is your Thanksgiving cooking game plan set? What does it include? And most importantly – anyone running a Turkey Trot or Gobble Wobble before feasting?

3 thoughts on “What to Bring to Thanksgiving Part III – Jalapeno-Cranberry Relish Recipe

  1. EA Stewart says:

    When I was a kid, I never would eat the cranberry sauce, but as an adult 🙂 I like it now. Love your version with jalapeño! No turkey trot, but my family and usually do a pre Thanksgiving hike in the hills above the beach. It’s one of my favorite Thanksgiving traditions! Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

