Winter Workout Attire

I am loving the winter-like weather lately and if it would just SNOW here in Virginia, I would be a very happy girl. There is something so serene and peaceful about running in the winter that has me addicted. For this reason, I am also obsessed with cold weather running apparel. From head to toe, here is what I will be wearing the next few months. (I have included links, so in case you still have some Christmas shopping to do, this may serve as a list for the female runner in your life!)

*Not sure what happened with the #s…but the 7 is supposed to be on the pants! Oops!

  1. Brooks Infiniti Headband – keep those ears nice and toasty! I own 2 pairs of Brooks headbands.
  2. EMS Techwick Top – I wear it for skiing, running, hiking, etc in the winter. My favorite aspect of this top is the thumb holes!
  3. Pearl Izumi Convertible Top – A wind and water-resistant top that changes from a jacket to a vest. I own an earlier version in pink!
  4. Nathan Reflective Snap Bands – A must if you will be running before sunrise or after sunset!
  5. Nike Running Gloves – Keep those fingers from falling off! I also own 2 pairs of these as well.
  6. Eastern Mountain Sports Icebug Shoes – Great for winter trail runs. Comes with studs for icy conditions!
  7. Nike Running Tights – Even has a small back pocket to stash your key, phone, or gel. My favorite running tights are Nike.

There is a list of what works for me when the weather outside is frightful (sorry, had to put in some holiday lyrics)! What does your typical winter running outfit look like? Men – sorry for creating a women’s specific post, but honestly, men do you even read this blog? If so, what are your “go to” cold weather items. I’ll create a collage of your suggestions if you would like!

10 thoughts on “Winter Workout Attire

  1. Colton St. Peter says:

    Tanya I love winter running too!!!…but how could I not considering where I’m from right? One tip I have for running on ice/snow is to put your own “studs” on your shoes…whether they’re old or new.

    I use my old pair of Asics Gel Nimbus shoes as they have the thickest sole of all my running shoes and are way past their prime. Go to your local department store and buy some 1/8″ or 1/4″ hex headed screws and then screw them into the bottom of your shoes in any design you want. Just make sure you put the short ones under the impact areas of your feet or you might get an unpleasant surprise! It’ll probably feel odd at first, but should be okay once you get moving.

    It only costs a couple bucks, and works great on muddy trail runs during the summer too. Just stay away from the tile floors…not much traction there.

  2. Tiff @ Love Sweat and Beers says:

    Great list! I don’t have many go-to items, but I’ve been using my bondiband over my ears lately. It’s not cold enough here to justify a full-on head wrap, but the light wicking material is just enough to keep off the chill. I do need to invest in some more reflective gear though.

  3. Rach @ This Italian Family says:

    That’s amazing! If it’s anything below 50 degrees then I don’t want to be outside and definitely not running, haha! I am such a wuss. 😉 But if I had cute stuff like this to wear then I might be more willing to run outside. 🙂

  4. Tiffany says:

    Just bought a headband yesterday for my morning runs, which have been in the 30s lately! So cold! I also love wearing running tights and a long sleeved fitted t-shirt with a fleece vest. The vest really keeps me warm!

  5. Sean says:

    Due to the fact that I can never get up in the morning before work to run, thus leaving running for after work, a headlamp is key in the winter.

Leave a Reply

