Reflecting on 2011

With the end of the year quickly approaching I wanted to look back at 2011 and make a brief list of accomplishments I am proud of.

  1. Became a Registered Dietitian.
  2. Started this blog – something I had been wanting to do since October of 2010!
  3. Ran my second half marathon (Austin Livestrong 1/2)
  4. Decided to put myself first and make the move to Virginia. A year in TX was my limit apparently! (My apologies to all Texans…I just can’t live in a place without winter!)
  5. Was asked to serve as a Committee Chair for the Sports, Cardiovascular, and Wellness (SCAN) dietetic practice group. All RDs and future RDs out there – Join SCAN – you won’t regret it!
  6. Learned to be comfortable standing up for myself!

Caution: Stereotypical “Reflecting on the past, looking to the future” picture below!

“Reflecting on 2011 and Looking Forward to 2012”

 

What achievements are you proud of this past year?

7 thoughts on “Reflecting on 2011

  1. Allison @ PickyEatingRD says:

    I agree – I really think SCAN is one of the best (if not #1) practice groups. Also, I think we may be somewhat opposite in that I would be more than ok with out a cold winter! I think what I am most proud of this year is changing career direction. I was working doing outpatient and now more nutrition marketing/health wellness menu development and I love it! Happy New Year!!

    • Tanya says:

      SCAN is certainly #1 in my book! Hopefully we can meet up at the Symposium in Baltimore. Were you there last year since it was in Chicago? We must have seen each other there at some point!

  2. Kristen @ Swanky Dietitian says:

    That’s great that you have accomplished so much!
    I am so happy you decided to start a blog! 🙂
    I am proud of getting a recipe published in Glow magazine. But also just having time with friends and family..etc. It’s been a great year!

  3. eatingRD says:

    Awesome accomplishments! I am also a huge fan of SCAN! Such a great group of RDs. Are you going to the conference next year? I think I may have to skip it if I go to FNCE. I’m proud of graduating with my masters finally 🙂

    • Tanya says:

      I will be going to SCAN. It is close to me this year being in Baltimore, so no plane ticket required which will help out a lot! I hope you can make it to SCAN!

  4. Corinne says:

    Hello, I just stumbled upon your blog…I’m an RD also! I started my blog this summer along with completing two half marathons too. Congrats on all your accomplishments and wishing you a happy and healthy 2012.

Leave a Reply

