January 12 in 2012 Update

At the start of 2012 I decided to create a 12 item to do list for the year. To keep myself on track I am going to give a progress update at the end of each month. Please let me know how your goals for 2012 are coming along as well!

#1 – Complete 6 trail races. I have signed up for the 1st one of the year which will be a 10K in March. I will let you all know how it goes!

#4 – Ski 30 days. January started off with 8 straight days of skiing at Heavenly and Northstar in Tahoe. As awesome as that may sound, I unfortunetly went to Tahoe while they had practically NO snow. Not cool. I am by no means a snow snob since I grew up skiing and teaching skiing on the east coast. However, out west in January I expect it to be steep and deep. Oh well. C’est la vie…sub par skiing is better than no skiing! Since heading back to reality in VA I have only gotten in 1 ski day at Snowshoe Mountain in West Virginia, bringing my 2012 total to 9 days. Not as great as my January total in previous years, but I do have some ski days on my calender for February that I am looking forward to! Fingers crossed for lots of snow this next month!

The only snowflake in all of Tahoe it seemed.

#7 – Make a trip back to WY/CO and #8 – Get together with college friends. I have plane tickets purchased for a friend’s bachelorette party in Denver this weekend. So if all goes according to plan, these two items will be checked off in my February recap! I always seem to have fun with these ladies, whether it be partying  in Vegas (can you pick me out?),

With my beautiful friends in Vegas - 2010. Excited to see them again!

Attending a Beer Fest in the country

Lander Brewfest

Or skiing closing day at Steamboat…it is a guaranteed good time with these gals! 

 

Ski Town USA

 okay, enough with the reminiscing!

#9 – Cut my peanut butter consumption down to 2 jars a month. I ate an entire jar of peanut butter while in Tahoe – I told you I go through a jar a week!!! – , so I had to refrain from buying another jar until the end of the month, but I am happy to report that I have stuck to my 2 (16 oz) jar a month limit for the first month of the year.

While nothing in my list has been officially checked off yet, I am happy with the progress I have made so far!

Other notable acomplishments the past month that are not on the 12 in 2012 To Do List: 1) Submitted an abstract for presentation at a conference in April. 2) Submitted a graduate research grant proposal. 3) Have not missed a workout on my schedule yet!

What goals did you set for yourself in 2012? How are you doing on them thus far?

13 thoughts on “January 12 in 2012 Update

  1. Anonymous says:

    Remember that occasionally you’re allowed to modify goals…you could prob let yourself have an extra jar of PB every now and then if that helps with the cravings 🙂

    • Tanya says:

      Very true! I mainly decided to limit myself so that I eat a greater variety of food instead of spending up most of my calories on PB! It’s hard though because I love it so much!

  2. Kate @ NaturaStride says:

    Good for you for “checking in” with your goals! I definitely think that’s important, rather than only looking back once in December and forgetting what your goals were in the first place! Looks like you’re right on track.
    PS: I thought of your PB goal yesterday while eating a tablespoon of PB straight from the jar. So so good.

  3. teri@managedmacros says:

    Hilarious commercial!!! My boy friend sent me that link yesterday b/c it reminded him of our cat…poor kitty :).
    Look at you and your gals…..ME-OW!!! 🙂 Good idea on reflecting on your goals! Mine are coming along…I did complete one book (4 is goal), we are working on embracing our city and trying new things, and my half marathon training starts Monday…I feel like I am on track!
    I really love your pics…you and your friends look like you have an awesome time together!

  4. Sarah says:

    Some really great ‘to dos’ there! I need to be applying for more internships at the moment to get some work experience, so that’s definitely top of my list. But I also need to start eating more avocados – I hear they’re amazing for you.

    On another note – all your friends are absolutely stunning!

Leave a Reply

