Black & Blue{Berry} Pizza

Yes, you read that right. A pizza topped with berries! No I am not crazy, I swear! You see, what happened was I recently won a Driscoll’s Berries Giveaway hosted by Kristen, aka – the Swanky Dietitian. I decided that I needed to do something unique and different with these berries; not eat them straight out of the carton or mix in to oatmeal as I usually do. I kicked off my unique berry recipe search on the Driscoll’s website and soon stumbled across this baby: the Grilled Berry Pizza.

Driscoll's Picture

I knew I would be trying it out, but in my oven – not on the grill…it was COLD when I made this! I went for the quick and simple (and maybe lazy) option of using a premade crust instead of making my own. I recommend making a homemade crust instead if you have the time, but this pizza was still great with the store-bought crust!

INGREDIENTS:

  •  Pre-made store-bought crust (or make your own dough)
  • 4 ounces low-fat goat or feta cheese, crumbled (I hate cheese, but I gave the goat cheese a try. Turns out I know myself well enough and was correct in assuming I wouldn’t like it and ended up picking it off)
  • 2 cups assorted Driscoll’s berries (I went with blackberries and blueberries, obviously)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh mint or basil (I went with basil)
  • Freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • Balsamic vinegar, preferably aged, for serving

Pre-baking

DIRECTIONS:

  • Place cheese, berries, and basil or mint on pizza
  • Bake according to package directions of the store-bought crust.
  • Add balsamic vinegar to taste.
  • Slice and ENJOY!
  • Note: If you decide to grill the pizza or make your own dough, follow the directions on the Driscoll’s site

Ready to be eaten!

Despite the fact that I dislike goat cheese, I really liked this unique spin on pizza. The warm and slightly melted blueberries and blackberries combined with basil and balsamic vinegar were fantastic!

Have you ever had berries on a pizza before? What did you think? What is the most unusual pizza topping you have tried out before?

15 thoughts on “Black & Blue{Berry} Pizza

  1. Faith @ For the Health of It says:

    Fruit pizzas are amazing, and I love berries with goat cheese!

    I’m also loving the rest of your blog…I just found it this morning and have been loving all of your posts! Your last discussion on body image and self-love…awesome in so many ways. Thanks for that little bit of inspiration, and I can’t wait to read more of your future posts!

  2. Tiff says:

    What an interesting idea – I’ve never tried fruit on pizza, except for pineapple on Hawaiian pizza. I actually haven’t had too many unusual toppings, but I guess bbq sauce is my wackiest.

  3. Jentry Nielsen says:

    This looks delicious! I am not a big goat cheese fan either, I think I’ll just omit it from the recipe, save myself the trouble of picking it off! 🙂 I’m usually pretty boring when it comes to my pizzas and have never tried berries before. The most “unusual” thing I’ve ever done with pizza is made a breakfast pizza once. We used hot sauce for our sauce, scrambled some eggs, ham, veggies, cheese. It was actually really good! ha

  4. Sarah says:

    This is the most interesting topping on a pizza I’ve ever seen! I really want to try making a black bean pizza, which uses mashed black beans as the base instead of tomato sauce. I thought that idea was pretty original, until you came along and blew me away!

Leave a Reply

