Freezer Section to the Rescue

I kicked off last week with the following in my fridge: 3 bell peppers, an onion, half a clove of garlic, and a few salad dressings and stir fry type sauces. It was a really sad sight which resulted in NO meals being prepped for the week….

Which subsequently resulted in my breakfast consisting of oatmeal and a latte from Starbucks or McDonald’s on the way to the office, and my lunch being a mad dash to one of the dining  halls to make a salad to gobble down at my desk or in class. Then there is the issue of what in the world to do for dinner. Stopping off and grabbing some ready-to-go food on the drive home was tempting but instead I remembered my stockpile of frozen noodle/rice mixes with vegetables. When these guys are on sale, I stock up for these exact “emergency” situations (confession: 1 night I did grab some food on the way home. It was 10pm, I had just left the office and I was HUNGRY!!!).

I’m not a big fan of  frozen meals since most contain creamy sauces, cheese, etc that I don’t find appealing or particularly healthy. These Kroger brand ones are perfect since they literally just consist of frozen rice or noodles with vegetables. I like that they are healthier and able to be seasoned/transformed in to different creations each time. However, they don’t have enough vegetables to satisfy me, or meet the MyPlate recommendations, so adding extra veggies is key! So here is one fabulous freezer section creation that helped get me through the week.

Freezer Section Meals: Schezwan Ginger Stirfry

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 Bag Frozen Vegetables of Choice (I used the Mexican Vegetable Mix – not the most appropriate selection for an Asian dish, but beggars can’s be choosers!)
  • 1 Bag Frozen Noodles with Vegetables
  • Ginger
  • Stirfry Sauce (whatever you have is fine)
  • Sesame Seeds

DIRECTIONS:

  • Warm up stir fry pan and add frozen veggies/noodles
  • Add ginger and sauce. Cook a few minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • When almost done, sprinkle with sesame seeds and stir
  • EAT….and get back to work not having wasted much time or eaten drive-thru food!

Not the greatest meal of all time, and certainly lacking in the protein department – BUT, I think it beats a $5 Hot and Ready pizza in both nutrient content and taste.

What is your back up food plan for when life gets hectic and there is no time for grocery shopping?

P.S. – I opted for grocery shopping on Saturday night over St. Patty’s Day festivities, and having a fridge full of food is such a relief as this week gets going! 🙂

P.P.S. – Does anyone else watch the new ABC show GCB? I think it is hysterical!!

6 thoughts on “Freezer Section to the Rescue

  1. Samantha says:

    I hear you on the frozen meal options. I am to the point in which I just get fed up with the sodium level alone! There is no excuse. 🙂 I have a handful of ones I will work with, but for the most part I just pass them up.

    I admit, I am too cheap for TV (and can’t even get basic reception where I live) so I have never heard of GCB. It might be on hulu so I can look for it there.

    When life gets hectic I think my eating tends to get worse. The fruit is easy, but not filling enough. I am doing better right now about trying to make things on the weekend that work. Or getting really creative with piling everything I can into salads.

    • Tanya says:

      Hey, no shame in having no TV! I lived without is for 5 years and I would easily go back to not having it. If I ever find myself not living with a roommate who already has cable or insists we have it, then I will once again be a TV free household! 🙂

  2. Kristen @ Swanky Dietitian says:

    This looks like a great idea!
    I am always looking for quick and easy meals in a pinch. Like the above comment, when I get stressed and busy, I don’t always make the best choice and want to cook. Things like this are a great in a pinch.

  3. Jess says:

    Frozen dinners aren’t usually my thing either, but it’s definitely a couple of steps up from fast food! As far as grocery shopping on Saturday, well it’s probably the best way to avoid the crowds :D.

  4. teri@managedmacros says:

    Back up plan is usually PB&J or oatmeal! I do stock up on tons of frozen veggies and fruit! TONS! Now…I love fresh but frozen keeps longer, much more convenient and the nutrition component may be higher than fresh left sitting around oxidizing!
    I did not do the St. Patty’s thang either…infact I did go to the store that day too!
    GBC?? IDK…
    Have a super week!!!

Leave a Reply

