Adding Insult to Injury

With last week being busy, busy, busy, I was excited to have some time on Saturday to get out for a much needed trail run. I recently made the decision that my first marathon would be a trail marathon in just under 2 months! In preparation, on the books for the weekend was a 2 hour trail run  on Saturday and a hike on Sunday. However…things did not go according to plan.

Not long in to my run I jumped over a log and came down totally wrong on my left foot. My ankle rolled, I heard a pop, and felt a lot of pain. I stopped for a bit, checked my watch – only 5 minutes in – dang! I can run this off, I thought. So onward I went. No way I am not getting in all 120 minutes! With a combination of hobbling, walking on the technical and sketchy parts, and attempting to run as normally as possible, I pressed on. At a snail’s pace (which is not to be confused with my normal turtle pace) I made it 60 minutes out. Sweet, time to turn around. This hurts. Why did I come all the way out here?

So there is the “injury” part of the equation, so what is the insult part? So glad you asked! Well, silly me   turned on to a wrong trail on the way back, getting myself a bit lost. The 2 hour mark came and went. Ugh, get me out of here. I need some ICE!!! Luckily I quickly arrived at a familiar intersection and was able to get on the path back to the trailhead. With lots of limping on the way out I finally got back to my car. 2 hrs 32 minutes of pain! Probably not the best idea I ever had to keep going, but I just REALLY wanted to run and not be a wimp!

Now the running plan is NO running and lots of RICE (as in Rest, Ice, Compression, and Elevation) this week. Fingers crossed that this is nothing major and I will be good to go for a 10K this coming Saturday. It may come down to a race day decision as to if I go through with it or not though.

Needless to say, no hike happened on Sunday. Sorry Oakley, I hope you understand why we spent the day laying around icing and working instead of roaming the woods!

I hope you all had a great, injury and insult free weekend! Did you get outside for any exercise? How about a fabulous Easter brunch? Are you recovering from an injury? If so, what are you doing to keep yourself sane while you are sidelined?

11 thoughts on “Adding Insult to Injury

  1. sjhealthyeating says:

    I do CrossFit. There’s been a lot more running lately as part of our workouts because the whether’s been so nice. All running is done on a trail just behind the gym. Got real worked up during a workout last week because I started getting the classic signs of shin splints. Luckily, the next day was a lot better, and I haven’t had any issues since. Hope your ankle feels better!

    • Samantha says:

      I agree with this comment. I don’t do crossfit, but I lift a lot more now and it helps me a ton! it isn’t the same as a long sweaty hike, but I do feel super powerful and better after lifting.

  2. Samantha says:

    Right now my balance is WAY off and I am not even injured! Work and school is getting in my way and the days are getting longer. I just need to readjust how I balance my day.

    Single biggest advice (and you know this is you don’t want to hear it :)) always better to just stop immediately and recover sooner rather than be out longer. 🙂 And yes, LOTS of experience here. 🙂

    Hang in there! Trail running is so much fun.

Leave a Reply

