It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year…SCAN Symposium!

Yes ladies and gentlemen, it is spring, and that means time for the Annual SCAN Symposium – aka my favorite professional meeting of all time. SCAN stands for the “Sports, Cardiovascular and Wellness Nutrition” dietetic practice group of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (formerly the American Dietetic Association). Basically it is a group of Registered Dietitians – and future RDs – who specialize in the areas of Sports Nutrition, CV, Wellness, and/or Disordered Eating and Eating Disorders. I love attending this meeting because I am always around like-minded people, the presentations are centered around my areas of interest, and we have the morning run club. Check out the SCAN website to learn more.

I am off to SCAN for the weekend and so excited to come back informed about some of the latest research and share it with all of you.

My very first SCAN Symposium - 2009

SCAN 2010 with Jared from Subway - My friend and I stole his trainer for a morning run along the water front.

Hmm, apparently I didn’t take any pictures from 2011. I will be sure to snap some this weekend!

I don’t actually have a favorite time of year. There are things I like about all 4 seasons and I like truly experiencing each of them. Maybe it is just the New Englander in me talking, but there are aspects I love about each season and I don’t like not experiencing all of them to their fullest (yes, Houston, TX – that is just 1 reason I did not like the year I spent with you)! Winter-yahh let’s get some skiing in; Spring – warmer temps, blooming flowers, beautiful; Summer – hiking, long days/nights, and the beach; Fall -did someone say Patriots football, foliage, and apple picking?? In my mind they all have their place and I would hate to not get each of them every single year!

What is your favorite time of year and why? Any RDs going to be at SCAN? If so, let’s connect!

-Tanya

8 thoughts on “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year…SCAN Symposium!

  1. teri@managedmacros says:

    Its JARED!!!! Cute pics!!!! SUMMER to the BONE!!! I live, breath and rotate around the sun…I am the sun, the sun is me! 🙂 Not going to SCAN and I have never heard of it!!! But how fun…sounds like it would be my cup of tea though! Have a great time and look forward to your 2012 pics!!

  2. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts says:

    How exciting! 🙂 I hope you enjoy the symposium. I’ll look forward to hearing what you find out!

  3. Kristen @ Swanky Dietitian says:

    How fun! I can’t wait to hear what you learn.
    I really want to go to FNCE this year, but may wait for the following year. That is always my favorite since I get to meet and connect with lots of RDs! Have a great time, Tanya! 🙂

Leave a Reply

