Quinoa Pilaf with Raspberries

Back in February, Kristen (aka the Swanky Dietitian) hosted a Driscoll’s Berries giveaway which I was lucky enough to win! With these berries coupons I vowed to make exciting and new recipes. The first berry recipe I made was this Black & Blue (Berry) Pizza. Searching through the Driscoll’s website brought me to Quinoa Pilaf with Raspberries recipe to try out second.

Driscoll’s Picture

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/2 cups reduced sodium chicken or vegetable broth I used water.
  • 3/4 cups quinoa
  • 1/8 teaspoons ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cups finely chopped parsley I didn’t have any on hand.
  • 1/2 cups finely chopped toasted walnuts almonds, because I hate walnuts
  • 1/2 cups dried currants
  • 1 package (6 ounces) Driscoll’s Raspberries

Instructions:

  1. In a medium saucepan, combine broth water, quinoa and pepper. Bring to a boil.
  2. Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer 12 to 15 minutes or until liquid is absorbed.
  3. Fold parsley, walnuts almonds, currants and raspberries gently into hot quinoa.
  4. Let stand covered 5 minutes.
  5. Serve warm or room temperature.

Overall, I found this dish to be a bit dry for my taste. Granted, I did not follow the recipe exactly though! Also, I find quinoa to be “nutty” in flavor so the addition of nuts didn’t seem to make the most sense. However, it is a quick a simple recipe for a unique berry side dish.

What lunch or dinner items do you add berries too? Link up the recipes if you have them!

8 thoughts on “Quinoa Pilaf with Raspberries

  1. thespicyrd says:

    Looks good to me! And, although I do like walnuts, I think the addition of almonds sounds perfect here. I actually had a spinach salad today that had spinach :-), sliced strawberries, grapes, and goat cheese. Yum!

  2. teri@managedmacros says:

    Agree….the sub of almonds sounds like a perfect match to the berries! I am not a parsley fan so I probably would of left that anyway. Nothing crazy going on with the berries here…oatmeal, plain greek yogurt of cottage cheese…boring!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

