1 Year + Giveaway

It has officially been 1 year since this blog went live – Happy Birthday Dine, Dash, and Deadlift! Can I get a Gigi’s Cinnamon Roll Cupcake over here to celebrate with? Please?

Seriously, how good does that sound/look? Anyways…I wanted to use this post to share some of my favorites from the past 12 months and do a giveaway! First for some of my favorite posts this year:

Nutrition & Exercise Research:

Recipes:

Workouts:

iRunnerBlog Posts:

Misc:

I also need to give a HUGE thank you to all of you who read this blog and take the time to comment on my posts and/or interact with me on Twitter and Dine, Dash, and Deadlift’s Facebook page. Thank you all so much for reading! Finally – a big thanks goes out to the wonderful designer (and friend of mine) Colin James Tuttle for setting the page up for me and creating my Twitter icon! Get in touch with him if you need design work!

Now for the giveaway! I recently ordered my first Road ID ankle band and have worn it nonstop since it arrived. I like the ankle version because it is out of the way and I never have to take it off. The only downside? Last week someone asked me if I was on house arrest since they thought I was wearing a tracking band. I think they were joking!

For those of you who haven’t heard of Road ID before, it is father and son owned company created on the concept that active people should wear ID as part of their gear when participating in outdoor activities.

Road ID is a durable, rugged, athletic, fashionable line of identification gear. Currently, they offer 6 different forms of ID: the FIXX ID, the Shoe ID, the Ankle ID, the Wrist ID Sport, the Wrist ID Elite, and the Shoe Pouch ID. There are also two options available. Original which includes 7 engravable lines of Medical Information and Emergency Contacts and Interactive which comes with an on-line / telephone housed Emergency Response Profile. To learn more about the two versions, follow this link.

To take some information from the website…

Who needs ID? ID should be as common and important as putting on a seat belt when getting into a car, or strapping on a bike helmet to go for a ride. Identification is important for people of all ages. If you are a runner, cyclist, jogger, walker, hiker, climber, skater, skier, boarder, or someone who doesn’t spend all of their time on the couch, then we encourage you to wear ID. Kids need ID too as they rarely have ID when they go out for a bike ride or walk to school.

Here are some stats for you: Each year over 450,000 of us are taken to hospitals unconscious and without ID. Year after year, over 122,000 runners, walkers, and cyclists are hit by cars. Thousands more suffer blackouts, concussions, heart attacks, heat strokes and other serious accidents. The National Safe Kids Campaign estimates that “every day, 39,000 children are injured seriously enough to require medical attention.”

“Not having ID while participating in outdoor activities is a serious risk — a risk that we no longer have to take. We shudder to think that we could be lying in a hospital and the medical staff would not know who to contact or even who we are — simply because we did not have ID. In the event of an accident, we want our family to be contacted immediately. We want them to be at our side as quickly as possible. We want to ensure that we receive proper medical treatment. We encourage everyone to wear ID and stop taking chances.” – Edward Wimmer & Mike Wimmer, Owners

Eeek! I know, I know…scary to think about. I hope that my RoadID never has to be used, but I think it is important to have. I also think it is important for everyone else to have a RoadID too. Therefore, for my 1 yr blog birthday today’s giveaway is for a $15 RoadID gift card to be used as you wish. If you already have a RoadID the gift card can be used for reflective gear, apparel, and more instead!

To enter, do the following by Sunday, June 10th – winner announced Monday, June 11th:

  1. Comment below, saying what you would use the gift card for (mandatory)
  2. Follow me on Twitter – @NutritionNerd (optional: 1  additional entry)
  3. “Like” Dine, Dash, and Deadlift on Facebook (optional: 1 additional entry)
  4. Send out a tweet and/or FB status update about the giveaway (optional: 1 additional entry)
  5. Subscribe to have my posts delivered to your inbox by entering your email in the “Subscribe” text box on the right hand side of the page (optional: 1 additional entry)

*Note: Leave an additional comment for each entry please!

Disclosure: I was not contacted or compensated by RoadID or anyone else to host this giveaway or talk about their product at all. I truly believe wearing a RoadID is a smart thing to do while out running, hiking, biking, skiing, whatever it is that you do. I won a $15 gift card myself at a local race to purchase my own RoadID with and when I happened to win another I wanted to pass it along to one of you! Simple as that.

26 thoughts on “1 Year + Giveaway

  1. Samantha says:

    This is a great giveaway idea. I am LONG overdue to get one myself as I hike miles without any ID usually either. I only in the past couple of years even started carrying a cell phone.

    I do trail run a bit, but my primary use would be probably be for an ID for hiking (basically whatever I am doing…it is mostly me and my dog). And I would be drawn to the ankle one myself. But I will check out the site more.

    Thanks for offering!

  2. Anna's Adventures in Health says:

    Congratulations on 1 year! I got a RoadID slim bracelet last year and wear it every time I go out on a run or bike ride. I’ve had other friends get them too. I think it is so important for safety! I’d love to get a shoe ID so that I didn’t have to think about putting on the bracelet or getting funky tan lines 😉

  3. Chrissy Carroll says:

    Congrats on 1 year! I’ve enjoyed reading your posts (love fellow RD blogs!). I have a Road ID and really value the fact that if an emergency were to happen, someone would know who I was and be able to call my family. I’d actually really like to get some reflective gear off of the Road ID page, since I don’t have any and sometimes run early in the morning or at night!

  4. chrissyc333 says:

    And am already subscribed to get your posts to my email!

    PS – I hope this is what you meant by leaving an additional comment for each entry 🙂

  5. Sandi says:

    Great product. I need one for myself and I like the idea of the ankle bracelet but I also would purchase one for my son.
    Congratulations on your one year anniversary.

  6. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts says:

    Congratulations on one year! And thanks for the round up of links – I’m heading off to look at the peppermint hot chocolate oatmeal 😉

  7. Amy says:

    Congratulations! I just started reading and subscribing to your blog not too long ago 🙂

    I keep meaning to buy a Road ID bracelet and would love to win this giveaway!

  8. Suzanne says:

    I had a RoadID but my last name has changed since I got married, and my town changed when we bought a house, so it’s a little out of date, and I have started carrying my ID in my sports bra. I could use the gift card for a new Road ID for my shoe…they are so easy to change from shoe to shoe!

  9. Jennifer says:

    I just found your blog and I’m so glad I did.. so much good info.. 🙂 I would use it a roadid bracelet

  10. Christine says:

    What a cool, useful giveaway! I would use the RoadID for biking and camping. I’m terrible about remembering to charge or bring my cellphone, so this would be so helpful.

  11. Lisa says:

    I have SO wanted a road ID for so long and haven’t gotten it. That extra little piece of security should something ever happen is a real nice thing to take care of. I’d love to win!

Leave a Reply

