DIY Flavored Waters: Cucumber Pear Mint and Lemon Raspberry

When it comes to beverages I typically choose water, with the occasional Diet Dr. Pepper thrown in to change things up. This is fine, but sometimes it is just plain boring which results in decreased intake and I end up going in to a workout feeling a bit parched or waking up flat-out dehydrated. I decided to take steps to fix that this weekend. Enter – DIY Flavored Water.

Step 1 – Acquire super cute pitchers.

I saw that Kristen had the stemless wine glass version a while back, and while searching the Pier 1 website, I discovered they had Liter sized glassware as well. Perfect for serving flavored waters in. I finally got around to going to the store yesterday and was ecstatic they had what I wanted. EDIT: If you are planning on going to Pier 1, check out the website for printable coupons 1st to save yourself some $$. Kate (you know, hott girl in a bikini from my last post) passed along that piece of advice to us!!

Step 2 – Purchase random produce and add to H2O.

I decided to make two different types: Cucumber Pear Mint and Lemon Raspberry Water. For the Cucumber Pear Mint I added 1/2 english cucumber, 1 pear, and about 12 mint leaves to 1 Liter of water.

For the Lemon Raspberry I added 1 lemon and about 3 oz. raspberries to 1 Liter of water. I let both chill in the fridge for a few hours. I have also refilled both containers a few times so far, keeping the original fruit/vegetables in them.

Step 3 – Enjoy and no longer worry about dehydration!

These flavored waters were just what I needed to encourage fluid intake throughout the day without resorting to a sugary drink (p.s. – thank you all for comments about my NYC sugary drink ban post). I REALLY like the crispness of the cucumber pear mint water and the addition of raspberries to typical lemon water.

I see more flavor water experimenting in my future. Ginger Peach,  Pineapple Mint, Blackberry Sage….the possibilities are endless!

Any flavored water “recipes” you recommend? How was your weekend – hectic, relaxing, active…a mix of all?

18 thoughts on “DIY Flavored Waters: Cucumber Pear Mint and Lemon Raspberry

  1. EA Stewart says:

    I love both your experiments, and those carafes are great! I just may need to head over to Pier One today 🙂 All I’ve experimented with before is lemon and cucumber (which I love), but I definitely want to try your versions, plus experiment some more. Cheers!

  2. Kate says:

    Tanya, these are great! I want to try all of them! just FYI for people who are going to run over to Pier One and grab some goodies, look on their website before you shop, as they sometimes have print out coupons 🙂

  3. Allie says:

    I love infused water! We actually offer it to the employees at work. It is a great and natural alternative for people looking for something aside from just plain water!

  4. Sanchali Roy says:

    My wife and I are big fans of cucumber water as well. So much so that we started bottling it and are starting to sell in a few healthfood stores in NYC. Please pick up a bottle (it’s call “INGO”) and let us know what you think.

    http://www.drinkINGO.com
    (available in NYC in whole foods and other health food stores)

  5. JH says:

    Onion jalapeno.

    Just kidding.

    Good ideas. I’m going to try the raspberry lemon right now as that’s what I have in my fridge. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

