Marathon Motivation Monday – Week 1

October 13th, 2012 is the date of the Baltimore Marathon – my first. I just started training yesterday using this plan from the iRunnerBlog (it includes 2 massages on the schedule – couldn’t beat that) and I am really excited about the next 14 weeks. I know it will be tough and that the craziness of my life and schedule will be a huge challenge. Therefore, I have decided to post a motivational quote and/or image each Monday along with a quick recap of how the previous weeks workouts went. This is mainly to help myself stay focused, keep my eye on the prize, and not slack off! That being said, I would love for you all to follow along with me on this journey and offer advice and encouragement.

Here is the quote I have chosen for the week to get me in the right frame of mind for the next few months:

I realize this image is a little out-of-place given that it is currently summer, but go with me here. There are a million reasons I could give for putting off training for and running a marathon. Too busy, don’t have enough of a base, will be hard to get long runs in during the school year, what if I have an exam scheduled/project due/etc the week before or after the race and it is too much to even take the time to travel to Maryland….and so on. Fact of the matter is, I think (and I hope) that my schedule will always be busy. There will always be a reason why “NOW” is not the “IDEAL” time. Too bad. Here goes!

-Tanya

20 thoughts on “Marathon Motivation Monday – Week 1

  1. Tiffany says:

    I love this idea! Would you tell us about what you did for your runs/where you went, etc.? Good luck and happy training. I’ll live vicariously through you since I’m about to have a baby in a few weeks 🙂

  2. Kate says:

    Tanya, I am so proud of you girl! A fun little trick that I would love to pass to you while training is, write a daily or weekly goal on your bathroom mirror (in marker). You will see this goal several times throughout the day and if there are times when you are feeling down or lacking motivation this really helps! Remember that you are your biggest compeition and you have what it takes to succeed. YOU ARE A ROCKSTAR!!!!!!

    On a side note….I have some awesome power-protein bars (homemade, clean and raw of course) that really help boost a workout when you need a mix up in the routine. If you are interested in them, let me know.

  3. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts says:

    Congratulations on the marathon plan, and I love this idea for motivation quotes 🙂 Today’s is great too – very, very true.

  4. Sarah says:

    Good luck with your training! I’m excited to hear about your adventures through it all – it’s definitely on my list of goals for the next 2-3 years…and you are totally right – we are always busy, there is never a “good” time. Checking off a tri this year!

    • Sandra says:

      O Jesus, our great High Priest, Hear my humble prreyas on behalf of your priest, Father Z. Give him a deep faith, a bright and firm hope and a burning love which will ever increase in the course of his priestly life.In his loneliness, comfort him In his sorrows, strengthen him In his frustrations, point out to him that it is through suffering that the soul is purified, and show him that he is needed by the Church, he is needed by souls, he is needed for the work of redemption.O loving Mother Mary, Mother of Priests, take to your heart your son who is close to you because of his priestly ordination, and because of the power which he has received to carry on the work of Christ in a world which needs him so much.Be his comfort, be his joy, be his strength, and especially help him to live and to defend the ideals of consecrated celibacy.Amen.

Leave a Reply

