Find Me Over On PickyEatingRD.com

Ever wonder what I do besides blog, workout, and cuddle with Oakley? Well today I am over on the PickyEatingRD blog telling the world all about it! Allison recently started a new series called “Dietitian Spotlight” where every Friday she will feature a Registered Dietitian to write about their career path. The field of nutrition is very vast and she wants the series to be a resource for those RD-to-be’s that are feeling like they don’t have options as well as serve as a fun series for non-dietitians and dietitians alike to see what those in the field are doing! I am honored she asked me to share a bit about my career path and how I am using my RD credentials, so head on over and check it out!

What is on your weekend agenda? I plan on working, relaxing, reading, working out, starting to pack up (I’m moving soon), and also taking a nap with the pup.

-Tanya

7 thoughts on “Find Me Over On PickyEatingRD.com

  1. Samantha says:

    Very fun post! I think you would be surprised that there is a subset of the public that actually wants to know the science of nutrition, but I have to admit, it never dawned on me that there was an entire group of RDs that are slanted towards the research as opposed to the clients. I think it is good stuff. One of my biggest beefs in the fitness and nutrition world is that there is a lot of “rules/information” given without a lot of science offered to back up the why.

    I wish you the best in a long and productive career. I think understanding more about the way the body works would be really interesting and I know I have enjoyed the info you pass on from conferences.

  2. Leron says:

    Hello! I am a current Dietetic Intern pursuing a master’s in Sports Nutrition and was very excited to find this blog! I am in the middle of completing coursework and will begin doing my rotations come Spring 2013.
    With the job market the way it is and as many interns as there are, there seems to be a lot of negativity around conversations regarding employement. This can be very discouraging at times so reading up on others who have gone through the process and are passionate about what they do is very encouraging and a nice breath of fresh air. Thank you!

    • Tanya says:

      I think there is just a lot of competition in the sports nutrition world, which is where some of the negativity surrounding the job market is coming from. Keep working hard and you will be just fine!

  3. Min says:

    Hi! I’m new to your blog, and I’m just in awe of how you juggle everything! I have yet to decide what field of nutrition I want to dive into. There’re so many opportunities out there, but at the same time, I don’t know how to find them. I have a B.A in Psychology, and I LOVE science. My favorite subjects are Biochemistry and Organic Chemistry, and therefore I’m interested in research. I love learning about reactions and mechanisms! At the same time, I do love interacting with people so I can’t rule out counseling either. What I do know is that I don’t want to do clinical, as I want to focus on prevention not treatment. Anyway, I’m just babbling now. I look forward to following, learning, and being inspired by you!

    • Tanya says:

      Thank you for stopping by Min! Good luck deciding which area you want to pursue and let me know if you ever have any questions. If I can’t help, I may be able to at least point you in the right direction.

    • Tanya says:

      Thanks! The boyfriend gets jealous that I snuggle with Oakley more than him, so my guess is that he thinks taking pictures of me snoozing with the pup will change this. He’s out of luck though!

Leave a Reply

