Marathon Motivation Monday – Week 3

Alright, 2 weeks down and 12 to go. This past week seemed like a long one. I ended it tired, sore, and the massage on Tuesday seemed like it happened months ago. This week, I am going to rely on others to help motivate me a bit. Whoever said peer pressure was a bad thing, never went for a group run!

I was lucky enough to get invited to join an informal group on a few runs this coming week and I plan on getting over my “fear” and nervousness and just accepting the offer. I know it will help me stick to my schedule and bring some excitement to my workouts.

Week 2 Recap:

  • Sunday- 10 minute warm-up, 3 x (2 min 5K pace and 2 min light jog). 10 minute cool down. Ran around the neighborhood, doing the 5K pace effort off of feel. Picked up the Oakley dog for the 10 minute cool-down. He is about 1-year-old and it is time for him to start running! TEMP: 80°F and HUMID!
  • Monday- 3 miles and 4 x 100m striders plus ab work. Took Oakley out with me for this run and decided not time it. I wanted to make sure I gave him breaks for water and to cool off in the creek rather than forcing the untrained pup to keep a certain pace. TIME: ???, TEMP: 85°F – feels like in the 90s.

Find the Oakley!

  • Tuesday- Off from running. Schedule told me to get a massage – So I did. GLORIOUS. Maybe if all exercise programs included “mandatory” massages more people would exercise? I also lifted prior to anxiously allowing a total stranger to put their hands all over me. Hmm…when I put it that way, massages seem kind of creepy…
  • Wednesday- 10 minute warm-up, 3 mile tempo 80% effort, 10 minute cool-down. I recently heard about a workout called Yasso’s 800s [yes, I have been living under a rock] and have decided to incorporate those in to my schedule every other week or so. Check out more about this workout at RunnersWorld.com . This week I did 4 x 800 m in 4:00 min (since 4 hrs is my marathon goal time), 4 minutes light jog. This was suppossed to happen Wednesday. It actually happened Thursday. Whatever. I finished ahead on each of the 800s, which cut back on my recovery jog time a bit. While the 800s are not run in any super speedy time, the active recovery makes it more challenging. Working my way up to 10 is going to be a struggle! TIME: 25:24 (would have been 28:00 if I hit all 800s right at 4 minutes) TEMP: 86ºF, feels like in the 90s.
  • Thursday- Off!! Not really. Ended up doing Wednesday’s workout since I couldn’t get it in as scheduled.
  • Friday–  10 miles This was my long run for the week. I didn’t feel great during it like last week’s 8 miler which is a bummer since 10 is my all time favorite distance. My legs felt heavy and I struggled to hold on to a 9 minute pace from the start. I could feel myself slowing down with each mile. When I finally hit the turn around point I knew I needed a mental distraction, so I invented a little “game”. I would speed up for 10 strides, slow down for 10 strides, speed up for 20 strides, slow down for 20 x 2, speed up for 30, slow down for 30 x 3…and so on until I got in 6 rounds at 60 strides at a fast clip and 60 at a slow recovery jog. Before I knew it I was only a mile away from home. Success. Run nearly salvaged.  TIME: 1:30:18  (9:02 min/mile pace). TEMP: 80°F. 90 minutes after finishing my run it was off to destroy my legs some more (aka – lift).
  • Saturday- 90 minute Vinyasa yoga class in a slightly heated room. Yoga is still harder than it should be. My favorite position is the one at the end where you lie down and almost fall asleep.

Do you run with a partner or group often? Do you prefer it to going solo? Why or why not?

19 thoughts on “Marathon Motivation Monday – Week 3

  1. Faith @ For the Health of It says:

    Good for you to take the group up on the invite! Should be a WONDERFUL way to stay accountable! A running club would be great for me, but I’m so worried about being a slow runner and not wanting to hold anyone else back. I’m almost always doing my runs on my own – I like not having to worry about pacing against anyone else.

  2. timelapserunner says:

    Some weeks are harder than others, it seems. And no two are identical in my limited experience, but I’d need a 3-decade rollback to accomplish what you did, Tanya. 🙂 BTW, I run all solo … although my harder days route runs me past or alongside of a lot of other folks exercising … perhaps though, as your post points out, I should consider some ‘peer pressure’ for some future runs. It can get a bit lonely out there. Keep on keeping on.

  3. Rick Dexter says:

    Keep up the great work Tanya! I am lucky enough to have an awesome running club to run with down here in Orlando. I am thankful I have them to depend on for motivation during these evil summer runs. Besides group runs teach you how to talk while training which I definitely think is key to staying motivated during some of those long hot runs 🙂

    • Tanya says:

      Thanks Rick! Ugh, running in Florida in the summer. You are braver than I. I hightailed it out of Houston after living there a year. Hated the heat!

  4. Samantha says:

    I am not remotely training like you, but what little trail running I do, it is me and my dog. I would say I would be afraid to join a running group because by myself I have no problem stopping whenever I want…hum, kind of like lifting alone. 🙂 Now I do a lifting class and guess what – I got stronger.

    PS. Read Bart Yasso’s book (My life on the run). I don’t even consider myself really a runner and I loved it. 🙂

    • Samantha says:

      PSS…once I got past my first massage (and the naked + stranger part) I was hooked. Meanwhile I am eagerly awaiting if you are actually going to do an ice bath. LOL

      • Tanya says:

        Oh, I will! 😉 I miss being forced to ice bath after workouts in college. I’ll have to look for that book to read while I am on vacation next week; thanks for the suggestion!

    • Tanya says:

      Ahh, so that is the technical name for it. I’m going to start referring to it as that so that non-yoga-goers think I am talking about some intense, difficult pose 😉

    • Jay says:

      Andrew: some use a nearly ininlpreheoscbme version of English Heh heh heh! Not to us on the other side of the pond! You guys need to get out more! Anyway, great to see the US through. And Japan now. Go, you underdogs. Of course Ireland should have been there to join you but a certain incident in Paris last November, ahem still, schadenfreude is being indulged in to the full over here. Let the reader understand, as the Evangelist saith 🙂

  5. Rach @ This Italian Family says:

    I love running with my husband because we are right at the same level. It would probably be better for me to run with someone who is a bit faster and/or has more endurance to push me more, but I’m not training for anything so not too worried about improving. 😉 Just running to run. 🙂

  6. Lena @Fit on the Rocks says:

    I might have to try your running game. When I trained for my first half, I was so in the zone and each long run was so amazing and a PDR. Now that I’m training for my third, I just can’t seem to get into the run..boooo

  7. teri@managedmacros says:

    Gotta love that scheduled massage!!! I have ran with a group once and I was very happy with it. I didn’t anticipate liking it but I was very surprised. Not only is it motivating, it helps push drive and you get to meet cool people with the same interests. For the most part, I’m a loner!

    • Padli says:

      Reminds me of something my hbasund told me about, that happened to him years ago.He went to a Baptist church and the preacher was raving and ranting about a certain other preacher who went to bars and drank alcoholic beverages. My hbasund (an Anglican Christian) thought to himself I would have bought him a drink!

    • Dimas says:

      My only gripe is the commentators: why do we need all these brits cminentomg on ESPN? The message for your people is that soccer is not a sport for Americans. Can’t they find some Americans to narrate the games? Some use a nearly incomprehensible variety of English. Almost makes me want to watch it in Spanish, but there you get the Mexican drama queens. (end of gripe)/The Spanish commentators are the best the English commentators can’t match the enthusiasm of the Spanish commentators.I was chuckling a bit listening to the (Scottish?) commentator I could barely understand his English.The American John Harkes has done a good job on the broadcasts. I like having one American and one Englishman on the English broadcast it gives you a wider perspective to have a European there.

  8. Daksha says:

    My new wife and I are getting our home in order, which is a nice feinelg boxes and stuff everywhere gets old quickly, as others have noted!Went to a parish at which we’d never assisted at Mass yesterday; Father talked about the need to embrace suffering in its different forms and offer it up to Our Lord, and that we must do this to get to Heaven. He connected it to last week’s OF gospel, saying that Our Lord called Peter to be the First Pope and now calls us to embrace suffering in order to attain Heaven. It was very refreshing to hear some straight talk about picking up our Cross, and about the only thing that matters is Heaven. Deo gratias!On top of that, the Church has an altar rail, and even though there were many faithful receiving, only priests distributed Holy Communion, one at the rail and one to people standing; the standing priest was accompanied by an altar boy with a paten, and he used it for people who received both in the hand and on the tongue. I was very glad to see this arrangement, and very thankful to be able to receive Our Lord kneeling (and of course on the tongue!) at an OF Mass.

Leave a Reply

