Marathon Motivation Monday – Week 4

The peer pressure (aka – group runs) which I mentioned I would be using for motivation this past week worked wonders! As week 4 gets underway I will be moving all of my belongings to storage and then heading out on vacation. If I go MIA for a while it is because I don’t have internet access. If I am MIA for more than 2 weeks, it is safe to assume I was eaten by a bear.

Motivation for week 4 is this:

Theoretically it should be easier to get every workout in while on vacation. However, it seems that it often becomes harder to stick to a training plan. Without a typical work week jam-packed schedule it is easy to say, “oh, I will run later…I can do it whenever”. Then before you know it, the day has come and gone. Also, other fun vacation activities in the summer sun can be very draining that we skip a scheduled workout, justifying that our hike, swim, etc was enough. Nope. Not this time. #GetErDone

Week 3 Recap:

Sunday: 10 min warm-up, 3 x (2 min 5K pace/1 min jog), 10 min cool-down. Felt a bit stiff/sore from the deadlifts on Friday (hey-o hamstrings!) but great other than that. The Oakley dog joined me for this one. Nice little jog to a nearby track and then I set the pup “free” to run around as he pleased while I did the fartlek portion. (It isn’t a “nice” track, so I felt it was okay to bring him. People ride their bikes on this track, so therefore…dogs allowed too?) Good little jog home. Great start to a Sunday morning.

Monday: 3 miles and 4 x 100 m strides.Scratch that. RUN GROUP was doing 4 miles, so I tagged along for that. Running with other people was a huge success today. I was a bit nervous going in to it since the woman who invited me recently ran a 50 mile trail race and has multiple marathons under her belt. However, she is very friendly and supportive and has started a great little group where everyone is free to pick some people to run with and go at their own pace. Felt GREAT. TIME: 33:28 (8:22 mile pace). Afterwards we went and enjoyed a mojito (Mojito Monday, ahh alliteration you make me happy)!

Tuesday: OFF

Wednesday: 3 miles, hard effortThere was some running involved in my XFit workout today (yes, I have “secretly” been doing Crossfit for the summer…yes there will be a post about it next month, you could bet on it), so I went with that instead. Running doesn’t happen much at Crossfit. The people there act like they are allergic to it or something. Very odd. Anyways, we did some random Crossfit stuff, you know – Double Unders, Rope Climb, something else…then the “WOD” (oooh, I am soo cool using the “lingo”…NOT) – 5 Rounds For Time of: 400 m run and 15 Overhead Squats. Running after squatting is no joke.

Thursday: OFF from running. Ab Work instead!

Friday: 12 miles. Two people from the run group were doing a LSD (long, slow, distance) on Friday (9-10 min/mile pace is what was promised), so I joined in. Great system they have. Organizer woman extraordinaire maps out a route that involves progressively “picking people up” and “dropping them off” along the way based upon what distance they have scheduled. I ran about 10 with her, our 3rd person joining up with us for 8 of those, and then the last 2 miles I was solo. Great system. Thanks for getting me out of bed nice and early before my brain had time to register what was happening! TIME: 1:51:05 (9:15 mile pace). Felt good and actually strong on hills for a change. I think the trail races earlier this year helped with that! Also, very happy that this pace felt easy and I was able to chat the whole time.

Saturday: 90 minute Vinyasa yoga class OR CrossTrain. Went to XFit. Today’s workout involved Handstand pushups, pull-ups, kettlebell swings, situps, and burpees. We finished off with a mile run. My left hamstring got strained at some point, so I didn’t do yoga this evening. Was worried about hurting it more.

Any tips/tricks you use for sticking to workout plans while on vacation?

-Tanya

12 thoughts on “Marathon Motivation Monday – Week 4

  1. Faith @ For the Health of It says:

    That’s an awesome motivational phrase for the week. I think I need to use that one myself – I’m the queen of talking myself out of workouts! When I’m on vacation and training for something where I can’t just 86 the workouts until I get home, I just schedule them like any other sightseeing activity. If I can do them so I get out of the hotel room or host’s house, even better!

  2. Allison @ PickyEatingRD says:

    Vacations can be hard and I try to find a good balance when I am on them. I know I generally feel better when I work out so I try to plan it into my morning. Of course there are times where they just don’t happen but I make it a goal to do at least do something 50% of the days I am gone.

    • Beto says:

      visiting some blogs, I ran into the blog My life with my 3 boybarians.c2a0 She is doing a relaly fun blog hop, where other moms can share what they are doing with their

  3. Kailey says:

    How do you like Crossfit for cross training? I usually just stick to walking/elliptical but strength training might be more beneficial.

    Have fun on vacation!! You deserve some R&R!

    • Tanya says:

      Crossfit has its pros and cons for sure. I love strength training and always struggle to find a good balance between lifting and running. One always “suffers”…but I like to include both!

    • Celeni says:

      High Mass in the traditional form at Salisbury, NC yrsdeetay (June 13th) was crowded with young people. That is, not children (though many kids were in attendance) but rather high school and college students.The Mass was shocking (in a good way) and really did offer a foretaste of the world beyond here.

  4. Tiffany says:

    Including both running (or some other aerobic training) and resistance training not only works practically, it just makes sense. I like crossfit workouts, but some of the dogma (i.e. “no running” and “everyone must eat Paleo”) can get pretty annoying. Thanks for marathon training updates!

  5. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts says:

    That first picture / quote really made me smile 🙂 I like running on vacation, or walking to mix it up, particularly when I’m somewhere I don’t know well – it’s like bonus time to explore and time to myself around what can be busy days with others. I am more flexible on holiday though, particularly with how long I go for.

Leave a Reply

