How To Be A Faster Runner Without Running

If you recall, yesterday I gave you all a little teaser lead-in regarding today’s guest post from Taylor, so I will just turn it on over to her!

I want to start off by thanking Tanya for allowing me to come and hang out with you all today! My name is Taylor and I am a personal trainer and blogger over at Lifting Revolution.

For the past 8 years strength training has been my passion, I have always enjoyed running but because of a herniated disc in my back I was told that I should avoid it… talk about a bummer. That lead me to workouts focused on strength training. The idea was (and still is) that the stronger I am, the stronger my back is. It wasn’t until about a year ago that I made the decision to up my running game. I had not had any back issues in a long time and decided it was time to get back to the sport that originally got me into working out in the first place. With that being said, I am currently training for my first half marathon coming up in October, pain free and feeling great.

Most runners focus on, well, running. I, on the other hand, have to keep strength training as the center to my overall training plan. To run strong, I have to keep strong. Otherwise, my posture will suffer, my core will suffer, and my back will suffer (putting a quick end to my short running career).

I know I am not alone and research shows time and time again that runners who incorporate other forms of fitness into their lives end up with better PRs. The stronger your arms are, the better you’ll be able to pump them to sprint to the finish; and the stronger your legs are the better you’ll handle the hills, potholes, and other obstacles along your path. The bottom line is that if you want to be a better, more efficient runner whether for a half marathon, a full marathon or a 5K, you have to focus on more than just the race itself.

Think of it like this, does a football player just practice playing football? No, he’s in the gym all the time, he’s doing sprints all the time, working on agility, and all the other pieces of a fitness program that can help him be the best player possible.

Same goes for you and running.

I know what you’re thinking: “All that sounds great, but I am running 20+ miles/week! How the heck am I going to fit in a strength training workout?”

Easily! It doesn’t take a 60 minutes workout 3 times per week to yield results. Quick and to the point, that’s my motto.

In fact, here is a quick 12 minute workout that you can do after a short(ish) run. Don’t do it before or you might exhaust your legs. I hate running with lead legs!

“Thirty Flirty” Toning Workout

Complete each of the following exercises for 30 seconds each, followed by a 10 seconds rest. That rest is just long enough to write down your scores so that each round you can try and match it or do better!

Complete the circuit 3 times total for a time of 12 minutes!

  1. Squat Jacks
  2. Spidermans Right Leg
  3. Spidermans Left Leg
  4. Double Burpees
  5. Squats
  6. Lemon Squeezes

(I, Tanya, am having trouble with WordPress displaying the video IN the post, so follow the link below as Taylor walks us through this work and demonstrates all of the movements)

http://player.vimeo.com/video/45586537

If you do it just 2x a week, that is only 24 minutes! Seriously, is there an excuse? I don’t think so. Short and to the point workouts are perfect during training season because they aren’t going to get in the way but they will help improve your overall athletic skills, and that’s what we all want!

So give it a try and let me know what you think.

Good luck!

Taylor Ryan is a NASM certified personal trainer. She is the writer of the blog Lifting Revolution, and Fit Women’s Weekly. Taylor lives in Charleston, SC with her husband Dan where they run a 7-location women’s only boot camp. She is currently training for the Marine Corp Mud Run and the Myrtle Beach Half Marathon.

7 thoughts on “How To Be A Faster Runner Without Running

    • Tanya says:

      WordPress just hates me! It should just work with the straight link because it is Vimeo, but it isn’t and unfortunetly WordPress doesn’t seem to have anyone around to help troubleshoot! Boo!

  1. Lisa Eirene (@LisaEirene) says:

    You know what worked best for me? CYCLING!!!! This summer I was biking to work about 3 times a week (my weekly mileage was between 50-75 miles) and my legs got so strong. When I would run, I realized I could go faster than I ever could before and I felt great. I know cycling so much strengthened my legs.

    • Ceci says:

      Nellie – HELLOOOOOOOOOO MY LOVE! AUNTIE NELLIE CANT WAIT TO SPOIL YOU!! ->Youre blog is so fun and the baby pictures are the best I have ever seen! I love you and youre bundidg family. much loves and hugs Nellie

Leave a Reply

