Marathon Motivation Monday: Week 11

Life is crazy busy with no sign of letting up until graduation (aka 3-4 years from now). Awesome. Time is short and training for a marathon is not something that can be squeezed in very easily. I am still planning on going ahead with it, but like I said last week, the countdown to race day is filled with so many more “high-priority” items besides running. Eek.

 Motivation for this week (as I have a 21 miler awaiting me) and for the forseeable future:

Week 10 Recap:

Sunday10 min warm-up, 2 x 1 mile @ 5K pace (rest 5 mins in between miles), 10 min cool-down. Never got done. 1st got bumped to Tuesday…then I thought maybe I would do 2 runs on Wed. Never happened. 1st totally missed run of the training cycle. Boo. (Yes, I know it sounds odd to say I don’t have time on the weekends, but I work 7 days a week and didn’t end up leaving my office until after 8pm this past Sunday…only to go home and study)

Monday- 5 miles.Just ran for 50 minutes. Oakley needed exercise. I needed to run. Assuming we got 5 miles in.

Tuesday – Lift Legs. Epsom Salt Bath Got the lift in quickly, late at night.

Wednesday- 3 mile tempo run at 90% effort. Lift arms. What ended up happening was a 4 mile trail run with Oakley and my roommate and her dog (who is Oakley’s new best friend). So nice to get out and run in the woods, even for just a short run. Took the New Balance Minimus out and didn’t get too sore! Success!

Thursday- Off. Wanted to make up the arm lift or Sunday’s run, but no time.

Friday- 18 mile long run. Got it done. Took Oakley out for first 3 miles. He was not pleased about having to get out of bed at 5am, but he was happy once we started running! Then I brought him back home, headed out for 7.5 solo miles, came back to my house and ran the last 7.5 with my roommate. Thank goodness for the canine and human company to break up these miles. Tackling the last 7.5 miles with a fresh-legged partner is a strategy I recommend. Must. Keep. Up. (aka- my inner mantra). TIME: 2:52:53 (9:36 mile pace).

Saturday- Yoga. 90 min Vinyassa class. I’m starting to somewhat enjoy yoga, even thought I don’t think I have gotten any more flexible.

There it is. Last week’s training in a nutshell….

Marathoners who work an insane amount….how do you do it?!?!

-Tanya

7 thoughts on “Marathon Motivation Monday: Week 11

  1. David H. says:

    I don’t say that I work an “insane” amount, but having a side business coupled with family life, I just get it done. It’s certainly not easy, but it’s a commitment I’ve made to myself.

  2. EA Stewart (@TheSpicyRD) says:

    Honestly, I don’t know how you do it! Glad you have a 4 legged friend to run with you from time to time. My fuzzy friend loves his walks and quick sprints to chase down the soccer ball, but running anything more than a mile and I’m dragging him. Keep up the great work!

  3. Brittany says:

    I was training for ONLY a half marathon, and found myself loosing time for everything!! I don’t know how you do the full marathon training on top of life!! You are a rock star!

Leave a Reply

