12 in 2012: September Recap

I am a few days late getting up my “12 in 2012” Recap for the past month. It has been a crazy couple of weeks, and very little has gotten done on this list.

#3 – Run My 1st Marathon: Not yet accomplished, but only 1 week left (if all goes according to plan) until this item can be crossed off. Training has had its ups and downs, but overall it has been a positive experience.

#9 – Cut My Peanut Butter Intake To 2 Jars a Month: 9 months down, 3 to go! For all you nut butter lovers, I hope you saw the  recent FDA recalls and checked your jars to make sure they are safe!

#10 – Cut Back on Responsibilities/Obligations: Still a work in progress, and always will be. However, I manipulated my schedule a bit to help alleviate the stress I have been feeling. I have also been trying to not put more than 12 items on my list for the day. I found myself having 30 item to-do lists, all with items that would take a few hours each. Obviously, it was just not feasible. I’m hoping this new item cap per day will help me focus on the most important and not become too overwhelmed.

Like I said…not much on the list was able to get done.

With 3 months to go here is what remains:

#1 – Run 6 Trail Races. I still need to run 2 and luckily I have my eye on 3. This one should get accomplished before December.

#3 – Run My 1st Marathon. If all goes well, in a few days this one should be checked as well!

#4 – Ski 30 Days. This item I am scared about. If you are a skier, you know how awful last ski season ones. Combine that with me being a “geographically challenged skier”, and it was a recipe for very few ski days thus far in 2012. I need to ski 18 days before January 1, 3013 rolls around, so here is to an early and ample snow fall here in Virginia and up in New England for the winter holidays.

#5 – Go on 12 Hikes. Only 6 checked off. Have some work to do on this one.

#9 – Cut PB Back to 2 jars/month. No worries about taking care of this item for the remainder of the year!

#10 – Cut Back on Obligations/Priorities. I know this is something I will have to work on throughout my life as I am a workaholic by nature. However, if I can close the year feeling like I am in a good place and have a handle on the upcoming 2013 Spring Semester I will count this item as accomplished.

#12 – Visit 2 National Parks. I need to visit 1 more. This is another item I am nervous about being able to get done.

Lots left to do (in between everything I HAVE to do) on this list. Fingers crossed I can find a way to cross them all off.

What are your goals for the final quarter of the year? Have you started thinking about items you want to put on a “To Do List” for next year yet?

-Tanya

13 thoughts on “12 in 2012: September Recap

  1. Stephanie says:

    Re: #4. I write this lovingly: “Uhm. Good luck with that.” 🙂 Although….it’s supposed to be snowing in the higher elevations in both WV and New England tonight, so who knows!

  2. Kristen RD (@swankydietitian) says:

    I am so glad you told me about the PB recall. How did I not here about it??
    I checked my pb and thankfully mine is ok. So crazy!
    I can’t believe your first marathon is coming up!! You will do great with all the training you’ve been doing!!

  3. thespicyrd says:

    I’m really hoping for a MUCH better ski season next year {and early snowfall for you!}. Keep up the great work, and, oh my goodness, hard to believe there are only 3 months left in the year! Happy Marathoning!!!!

  4. Samantha says:

    My biggest goals are probably find a job and try and either make my current living situation better or move.

    By the way, best of luck on your marathon!

    I laughed at your lists. I believe the ideal is something like between 3 – 6 items, but I realize it is the little things. I finally had to do away with my lists entirely for awhile because it was adding stress that I wasn’t getting things done!

  5. Managed Macros says:

    You are doing wonderful on your list!! I am still working on mine, we both did the 12 remember?? You are dedicated, I need to post a recap on mine too, keep me in check! I don’t think I knew you were a vegetarian? Very cool? I have not claimed that title for myself yet, although 4 week on Monday I am getting close to using it!

  6. Karin says:

    I hear you on the skiing issue. I live in central PA. I think we got out once last year. We’ve had terrible years since we started skiing two years ago. I’ve been hearing we will have a snowy winter this year, fingers crossed!

  7. kelsea says:

    What marathon are you running? Good luck!! Are you counting cross country skiing? If yes then you could probably find a trail that at least makes snow on a portion of the course (I know they did that here in Boston last winter)

    • Tanya says:

      I am running Baltimore! I wasn’t planning on counting cross country skiing (mainly because I don’t own equipment and haven’t done it since middle school), but that is a good idea. I wonder if there is anywhere around here that makes snow on those trails, hmm, need to look in to it since it definetly didn’t snow enough here for any natural cross-country skiing. Thanks for the idea! 🙂

Leave a Reply

