Five {New} Favorite Foodie Finds

Happy Monday! This weekend was pretty great. Oakley was successful at his very first race; bringing home this medal. I will give a race recap in my end of the month 12 in 2012 post, but wanted to post this picture today as I am very proud of him! Now for the real purpose of today’s blog…

Sometimes I try new things that are so good that I must recommend them to everyone! So here are the top 5 food products I am loving recently.

1. Sharwood’s Biryani Sauces

(Source)

I came across the Sharwood’s Biryani 2 Step Sauces on sale in the international section of my normal grocery store (Kroger) and bought two (Tomato & Cumin and Coconut & Curry Leaf) on a whim. They seemed like a time saver and potentially pretty tasty too…and I was right! The bottle gives directions for chicken and shrimp dishes, but I used tofu (and also added onion, bell peppers and spinach) with success.

The bottles come with pre-measured spices which are added once the tofu or meat has cooked a little bit, and then the sauce is added to pot along with a bit of water. A lid is placed on top and within 30 minutes a delicious meal is ready. Easy peasy!

2. Zevia Black Cherry “Soda”

As a subscriber to the newsletter “Supermarket Savvy” (if you haven’t heard of it I recommend checking it out) I am privy to free samples in each monthly newsletter. I first heard about and got to try Zevia for free based on an offer available to subscribers. Zevia is a calorie free soda sweetened with stevia, but what I really like are the unique flavors. Black Cherry is my favorite (of those that I have tried) with Strawberry as a close runner-up. These sodas are a bit pricey, but you can print out coupons or request the coupons be mailed to your home right on the Zevia Website.

3. Tierra Farm Curry Cashews

You may be familiar with the Tierra Farm brand from their nut butter and trail mix line up, but have you tried out their curry cashews? If not, you are missing out. I came across these in the bulk section of a natural/organic food store, and thought ‘I love cashews. I love curry. Have to try this out!’ . They are worth the $12.00+/lb price tag for the occasional splurge. I might try to make my own at some point. It seems easy enough, but the time I tried to recreate Wasabi Almonds didn’t really pan out like the store-bought version. Tierra Farm also has some other flavored cashews that I came across on their website which sound pretty good too. Agave Ginger, Garam Masala, and so on. See all of the options, here.

4. Müller Corner Yogurts

I had seen a several commercials for the Muller yogurts, but thought nothing of it at the time. Then while grocery shopping 2 weeks ago, a station with free Muller samples was set up. I tried a few varieties and thought they were pretty good. The free taste test combined with a 10 for $10 sale and coupons for 25 cents off each saw me stocking up on a few. I love the Greek Corner Blackberry and Raspberry and the Corner Crunchy Granola varieties the most and find them much more filling than the traditional Kroger brand low-carb yogurts I usually go for (thanks to the higher calorie content of the Muller brand).

Muller Stocked Fridge!

5. Peppermint Tea (Bigelow)

I have long been a fan of peppermint lattes and peppermint hot chocolate in the colder months, but I really don’t need to be drinking that many calories. I switched to tea this past month and have found that it gives me the peppermint flavor I am after, but in a calorie-free (or at least reduced, since sometimes I add vanilla soy milk) way.

Have you tried any of my new favorites? If so, what do you think of them? What are your recent favorite foodie finds?

9 thoughts on “Five {New} Favorite Foodie Finds

  1. Managed Macros says:

    What a fun post!!! I LOVE curry simmer sauces, in fact that is exactly what I am having tonight. I use the TJ brand often. I have seen the soft drinks at my grocery and I agree, black cherry is the best flavor!! I have never heard of the miller corner yogurt but will keep my eyes peeled. I use to subscribe to savy shopper and forgot all about that until you mentioned it…it is a great resource to what’s new!

    • Gilbert says:

      Great items from you, man. I’ve remember your stuff prior to and you are silpmy too wonderful. I really like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the best way during which you assert it. You make it entertaining and you continue to take care of to stay it smart. I can’t wait to learn much more from you. That is actually a terrific website.

  2. Brittany says:

    Can’t wait to read the puppy recap!! Such an adorable photo! I haven’t tired any of these products, I have has Zevia..but not that flavor. I tried new recipes this week..does that count!?

  3. Clleiton says:

    A friend, if they were sirecne in their own appreciation of the stuff. I (like most of us..) like to buy from someone I like. I am swayed by the sirecne and personal when it comes to making purchasing decisions. At the same time, I am a particular sort, discriminating in my choices; I would do my own checking/feeling it out. An authority might work for me too but they would have to evoke some sort of feeling of kinship with me first, like a potential’ friend. I definitely never buy something no matter how damn wonderful it might seem to be from someone I don’t like. Feels like a wrong place to hand over my money.

Leave a Reply

