Mediterranean Snacks Review and Giveaway

A while back (actually, an embarrassingly long time ago) the Mediterranean Snacks company contacted me to see if I would be interested in trying out some of their products and posting a review.

I had never heard of this company before, but after a quick look on their website, I said, “Lentil-based chips and crackers? Send ’em my way!” (Yes, the benefits of being a nutrition blogger strike again). As a vegetarian, lentils are a common occurence in my diet. High in protein, easy to make, and incredibly versatile in various dishes. They get an A+ in my book. So what did I think of the samples that came my way?

Mediterranean Baked Lentil Crackers:

The Sea Salt variety was my favorite. Great on its own and because it doesn’t have a stronger flavor associated with it like the Cracked Pepper or Rosemary Herb versions, it is also the best choice for dips/spreads. I personally LOVED this topped with some tabouli and it was eaten up rather quickly.

I primarily ate the other two topped with plain hummus. I didn’t really like the Cracked Pepper alone, a bit too “peppery” for my taste buds!

Mediterranean Baked Lentil Chips:

I am not a big “chip” person by nature (well anymore that is…as a kid I considered Dorito’s a necessity for life) so I wasn’t really sure I would like this lentil-based chip either. None of them were a big hit for me. The texture was not very “chippy”. It was more like one of those Moonpop crisps you may have recently seen in the grocery store lately, having a bit of air incorporated in to them. The crunch-factor was still intact and most definitely “chip-like” though. For me, these chips are a no.

However, keep in mind that my taste buds also hate cheese, olives, and soup so you might not want to accept my view on its own. Kristen (aka Swanky Dietitian) posted a review of these same products and was a big fan of the chips. She even said one of the Lentil Chip flavors was the best snack food she has ever had!

Overall:

Both of these products are Gluten Free and use non-GMO ingredients. I am not a proponent of a gluten free diet for no reason. However, I know a lot of people are currently following a gluten-free diet regardless of if they have Celiac’s disease or wheat-intolerance. Therefore, I would recommend these crackers/chips for parties and gatherings. This way everyone can enjoy the snacks you plan to lay out (cheese & crackers, hummus & chips, etc.) without worry.

Furthermore, having family members who were diagnosed with Celiac’s disease before it was “cool” I am glad that there is more awareness of the dietary restriction these folks face and therefore more products available for them. I have also noticed the gluten free products becoming better over the years. I remember it being so hard after my cousin was diagnosed to find snacks/baked goods she could eat that were tasty and sturdy. There was the pizza crust that even the dog refused to eat and the chocolate chip cookies which fell apart and left much to be desired in the taste department.

Win It:

So now for the giveaway. See that last picture? ALL of that could be yours (Lentil Crackers, Lentil Chips, and Hummuz Chips) to try out! To enter:

1. Comment on this post telling me if you have ever had any of the Mediterranean Snacks before and if so, which is your favorite. If not, which one are you most interested to try? (mandatory)

2. “Like” Mediterranean Snacks on Facebook (optional, for an additional entry)

3. Follow Mediterranean Snacks on Twitter (optional, for an additional entry)

4. Tweet out: “I just entered @NutritionNerd ‘s giveaway of @MedSnax products and you should too, http://wp.me/p1BMNm-Ei” …. or something like that (optional, for an additional entry)

Get your entries in by Sunday December 2nd, winner will be announced Monday, December 3rd!

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

-Tanya

Disclaimer: Mediterranean Snacks provided me with samples to review and are sponsoring the giveaway. I receive no monetary or other compensation for blogging about this product. Thoughts and opinions are my own.

28 thoughts on “Mediterranean Snacks Review and Giveaway

  1. Austin says:

    I have not had any of these snacks yet, but I’d be interested in trying the lentil chips. I’m curious to see how they compare to the lentil chips that Trader Joe’s sells!

  2. Managed Macros says:

    1) Yeeeaaa, A give a way!!! I keep forgetting you are a veg head!!! I am most interested in trying the ROSEMARY lentil chips.
    For my additional chances of winning I
    2) Liked them on Facebook
    3) retweeted with your @nutritionnerd
    4) Liked them on Twitter
    Other words, I did them all 🙂
    Happy weekend!

  3. Jason says:

    I haven’t tried these, but I would want to try the cracked pepper chips. I also liked the facebook page, followed the twitter page, and tweeted!

  4. thespicyrd says:

    Not entering since I have snacked on them all, but thought I would chime in too! I too preferred the crackers over the chips, but I did like the plain sea salt chips, and both the sea salt and the rosemary crackers. Now you have me craving some hummus 🙂 Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

