Try It Out Thursday: Grow Your Own Mushrooms

I am not a gardener. I do not have a farm. In fact, I don’t have a “green thumb” at all. However, I can – and DID – grow my own mushrooms…and so can you. Fellow dietitian and blogger Diana Leah Wilson recently hooked me up with a Mushroom Kit from the company “Back to the Roots” and it was incredibly simple!

The kit is essentially just a box which the mushrooms grow out of and comes complete with instructions and a little spray bottle needed to mist the mushrooms as they grow.

Mushroom_Kit_Box

After soaking the bag in water overnight, you basically just put the mushroom box by a window, spray with water a few times a day, and BAM about 10 days later you have oyster mushrooms!

Mushroom_Kit_2{Day 3}

Mushroom_Kit_3{Day 7}

Mushroom_Kit_4{Day 11}

Clearly they started to take a turn south at the end and I should have used them a bit sooner, but oh well! 🙂

This would make an awesome gift for kids and adults alike. Seriously, bringing the hostess flowers is OUT and bringing a grow-your-own mushroom kit is IN!

So get yourself a mushroom kit and TRY IT OUT! Recipes ideas available on the Back to the Roots Blog in case you just don’t know what to do with the mushrooms after they grow!

Do you grown any of your own food? If so, how did you get in to it? What would be something easy to start with?

-Tanya

P.S. – Ankle update: I had a follow-up appointment today with the orthopedic and the plan is to get a MRI to rule out other problems. I should (hopefully) have more answers and a new plan of attack by the start of July!

8 thoughts on “Try It Out Thursday: Grow Your Own Mushrooms

  1. Samantha says:

    Wow. You have just brought back a total college memory. I had one of those boxes! (Maybe not that brand, but amazing). I had completely forgot about them.

    I am doing my first serious vegetable garden this year. Who knows what I will produce, especially if it continues to rain and stay dark. But it can be so relaxing at times.

    Good luck with the ankle. I have been sidelined by an ankle before, but not nearly the injury you have.

  2. sklloyd15 says:

    O I really want to do this!!! I love mushrooms so much, and my dad loves to grow things so I hope it runs in the family 😉 I am hoping the MRI comes out clean and you will be back running soon!

  3. Lindy says:

    Tanya, I totally had a nightmare about these mushrooms the other day after reading about them here. I don’t remember at all what happened; I just woke up rather suddenly and was thinking fearfully about the mushrooms. …now that it’s daylight, I think that’s a pretty awesome nightmare haha and I needed to tell you about it!

Leave a Reply

