2nd Times the Charm: Blue Ridge Marathon 2014

I have no clue where the saying, “3rd times the charm” came from, but I am throwing that well-known phrase out the window. This past spring I was unable to run the Blue Ridge Marathon due to an injury (but was still there to cheer on my friends) and have been out of the running game through the summer as well thanks to another injury back in May (seriously, 2013 – what is your deal?).

BRM Logo

Fortunately, I just got the okay to start running again within days of being chosen as an official blogger for the 2014 race (yayy!!) and I am more than ready to toe the starting line on April 26th! I know I am still on the road to full recovery and that getting back up to marathon training distance will take a while. Right now the thought of running a 5K is intimidating, let alone tackling over 8x that distance! However, I have done it before and I can do it again. Like I did for the 2013 event, I will be hosting a giveaway for free registration, so stay tuned for that! Until then, time to push the fear and apprehension aside and jump back in to running!

Nashville_Cliff_Jumping_2013

{When in doubt, when in fear, be aggressive. Commit yourself & never look back}

I’d love to know, what are your best tips on returning to running after being out for several months with injuries? What races are on your 2014 calendar?

-Tanya

8 thoughts on “2nd Times the Charm: Blue Ridge Marathon 2014

  1. David H. says:

    The 2014 BRM is the 3rd time I’ve signed up for the full, so for me it’s either 3rd time’s a charm or 3 strikes and I’m out. The half is fun, but I feel like I NEED to do the full.

  2. runner1313 says:

    Hi fellow Blue Ridge Marathon Blogger! I was chosen as well. I ran the event this year. Such an amazing experience! I recapped the event on my blog, check it out. Sorry about your injuries. I took off a month late last year to fully recover from a broken foot and PF, right after running the OBX Marathon. It was tough, but did a world of good. This year, no injuries, knock on wood!

Leave a Reply

