Nature, For the Win!

On the side bar in the “About Me” paragraph I say, “I believe living a healthy life includes good food, physical activity, and the great outdoors!” – and I truly mean it. It’s not just me thinking this, but great writers throughout the years as well. Take one of my favorites, John Muir…

“Climb the mountains and get their good tidings.

Nature’s peace will flow into you as the sunshine flows into the trees.

The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy”

McAfee's{McAfee’s Knob – Summer 2013}

When I think back to times I have felt the most happy, the most energetic, and the most alive it is generally when I am outside, removed from traffic lights and city streets. Standing atop a mountain. Horseback viewing the world through two perfect equine ears. On skis surrounded by aspen trees in a winter wonderland. You may be thinking, “Okay, Tanya, your opinion holds no weight”. I get that, I do….so what if I told you that researchers around the world are seeking to better understand and quantify the influence the natural world has on human health – physical and mental….would you believe me then that a true connection may exist? Take this recent report on camping and circadian rhythm from the Sleep Labs at CU Boulder. Or this review of indoor vs. outdoor exercise from researchers in the UK. Want more? Give this paper a read as psychologists attempt to define and determine the “vitalizing effects” of nature!

Regardless of what methodological flaws and exaggerated discussion points you can pick out of those above examples, it doesn’t matter to me. As soon as I hit “publish” I am off for a trail run on the outskirts of town to get my dose of vitamin N (aka Nature), and I truly hope you also take the time to immerse yourself in the nature world.  I’ll leave you with another of my favorite John Muir quotes…

Mountains Are Calling

{Thanks to THIS Facebook page, for the above image}

Outdoors v. Indoors – Where do you prefer to exercise? Love nature or not so much?

-Tanya

4 thoughts on “Nature, For the Win!

  1. sklloyd15 says:

    No wonder you didn’t like Houston! No mountains, you should have tried the Texas Hill Country! I used to be a gym rat, no longer! I like to bike (unskillfully) on the beach, run outdoors, of just a take a walk to look at the scenery!

  2. nutritionandexerciselab says:

    Tanya, I love this!! We just got back from a camping trip this weekend and I have to say that it was just what the doctor ordered!! There is something to be said about removing the sounds of hustle and bustle and getting back to the slow rhythm of nature!!
    ~Cheers, Erin

Leave a Reply

